Archiving or Deleting tasks... What's the difference?

When going to remove or adjust tasks, you will notice that there are two options available to you, Archive and Delete.

Archiving a task

Archiving a task removes the task from the assignees available tasks. Archived tasks are still counted toward overall task completion percentages for the user as well as project and report task completion percentages.

Deleting a task

Deleting a task removes the task from the assignees available tasks, but removes the task completely from all task completion reporting similar to if the task never existed in the first place.

 

Examples:

I have a project with 100 tasks of which 70 have been completed and I want to remove the remaining 30 tasks from the project.

Archive:

After archiving the remaining 30 tasks, the project will be completed. The project completion percentage for this project will be 70%. The overall task completion count will be 70/100.

 

Delete:

After deleting the remaining 30 tasks the project will be completed. The project completion percentage for this project will be 100%. The overall task completion count will be 70/70.

 

Editing a Single task                                                                                                           Screen_Shot_2019-05-07_at_4.39.42_PM.png

Editing multiple Tasks    

Confirm delete task window (Deleted and archived tasks cannot be undone)

You will be able to view previously deleted tasks by using the Status dropdown on the tasks page.

Use the dropdown and select "Deleted". You will then be shown a list of previously deleted tasks.

Archiving or Deleting a recurring project

In addition to tasks you now have the ability to delete a recurring project.

Deleting a project will remove that project and all of its tasks historical data from all project completion reports. What this means is that if you had 5 recurring projects, and deleted one of them, all previous project completion reports will only show the progress for the 4 remaining recurring projects in the account. Be careful when deleting a recurring project. Once the recurring project is deleted, it and the history of its completion data will be gone forever.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request